Treat Yourself with Backlist Books!

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

For Darkness Shows the Stars

I love reading new books, SO VERY MUCH! But, I am also a re-reader too. I know not everyone is but for me, rereading books is therapeutic and fun and comforting. I have many books I love to re-read and a recent (as in 2012) book I love to reread, whether the entire book or just special segments, is Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows the Stars. You can read my original review if you’re so inclined.

The romance in this book, the world building, the connection to Jane Austen, all of this adds up to a great reading experience. The longing between Elliot and Kai is palpable. I don’t buy a lot of books in hardcover but this, after reading a galley of it, I totally pre-ordered. Seriously, this is an utterly lovely YA romance, though I suppose not everyone would call it that. For me, the romance is such an integral part of my re-reading experience that I cannot help but classify it that way. Seriously, so very lovely!

One of the reasons I am so fond of this book is because it opened my world to the books of Diana Peterfreund. One of my favorite series by her is the Secret Society Girl series which is set in college. It also happens to be a great series with some great feminist themes. AND of course, for me ROMANCE. Peterfreund has since become one of my favorite writers.

I haven’t read ALL of her books however so if you have a favorite Peterfreund novel to recommend, let me know in the comments!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

