Review: Broken Play by Samantha Kane

broken-banner_edited-1

I’m excited today to talk about a new book series from author Samantha Kane. I’ve actually been reading Samantha Kane for many years now, since way back when I was in college in fact (here’s one of my reviews for her book, A Lady In Waiting, which came out in 2008! I’ve gone by the moniker “Sarah W” in my reviews for years now.) Thus, when I heard about her new book, Broken Play, I was really excited to read it.

Broken Play by Samantha Kane

Birmingham Rebels #1

Broken Play is a sports book, yay! That is what caught my eye right away. And it also happens to feature a m/m/f storyline which I hadn’t read in awhile so again, this caught my eye and I thought I would give it a try.

Marian is the new assistant offensive coach for the Birmingham Rebels which are not exactly the most winningest team in the NFL. They are bit of the losers of the league from what I gathered while reading. BUT the players want to change that, as does Marian. From the instant Cass lays eyes on Marian, he is ready to be with her. And he wants his best friend, Beau, to join in. Cass sees a deeper connection between the three of them almost instantly. I will admit, that was a bit hard for me to buy into, especially given Cass and Beau’s prolific past. Marian knows about this past and she is determined to not be a part of any relationship with them. After all, it would be a disaster and unprofessional. Cass doesn’t think so and with the help of Beau who grows to admire Marian, they set out to woo her. And it is SEXY.

The biggest drawback I had with this book was that it took me awhile to get into the head of Cass, in particular. I just didn’t see WHY he wanted Marian so much aside from her looks. It came off rather shallow initially but I forged ahead and I am glad I did. The author lays out deeper motivations for her characters as the story continues and I was able to see what drew Cass to Marian. My favorite character in the story was Beau. He was just the silent, brooding type that I love reading about. His love for Cass, and then Marian, really shines through on the pages. He is Cass’s right hand man (in EVERY sense of the word) and truly believes that without him, his future would have been much different. I won’t give the details away but Beau has quite the sad backstory and Cass’s help through that time really made me admire them both.

This book can be a bit slow at points. The football backdrop didn’t come off quite as effortlessly as other sports romances I have read recently. It was there but I would have liked to see all three characters in their careers a bit more, especially Marian given her role in such a male dominated field. Overall though, I read through this book quite quickly and enjoyed it. And the ending, which is HOT HOT HOT, well I’m definitely ready for book two already. I think the Birmingham Rebels are going to hook in a lot of readers! The closest readalike I can compare this to is Jaci Burton’s Play-by-Play series, though of course, those books are strictly m/f. But I have a feeling if you enjoy that series, Samantha Kane’s new series may be a great title to check out.

Broken Play releases September 1 from Loveswept!

Perfect for fans of Shayla Black and Lexi Blake, the deeply sensual new Birmingham Rebels series introduces an unforgettable team of chiseled football gods—and the daring, provocative games they play behind closed doors.

Birmingham Rebels offensive linemen Beau Perez and Cass Zielinski are inseparable, on and off the field. Cass, the captain with the cowboy swagger, is a loose cannon. Beau, the veteran tight end, is cool under pressure. And ever since they were caught on tape in a steamy threesome, their exploits have fueled more than a few tabloid headlines—and naughty fantasies.

Marian Treadwell knows all about the video. And now that she’s the Rebels’ new assistant offensive coach, she can’t look at Beau and Cass without picturing their hard, naked bodies—with her pressed in between. Marian would like nothing more than to indulge those impulses, but she knows better than to get too close to her players, a bunch of adrenaline-fueled alpha males who don’t always follow the rules.

Just the thought of sharing the gorgeous yet guarded Marian drives Cass wild. At first, Beau isn’t sure she’s right for them . . . and lately, all he desires is a little alone time with Cass to explore their new intimacy. But it’s only a matter of time before Cass breaks through both of their defenses. Because when seduction is the game plan, he always plays to win.

Broken Play is intended for mature audiences.
 
BUY NOW
Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Samantha Kane lives in North Carolina with her husband and three children, two boys and one girl. With a master’s degree in American history, she spent seven years as a high school history teacher before becoming a full-time writer and mom.
 
 
Advertisements

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Review: Broken Play by Samantha Kane

  1. Lisa Filipe (@TastyBookTours) August 24, 2015 at 2:38 PM Reply

    Thank you for hosting BROKEN PLAY!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: