Monthly Archives: May 2016

Cover reveal: Broken Prince by Erin Watt

Broken Prince by Erin Watt

These Royals will ruin you…

From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.

Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.

What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.

Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.

She might be right.

Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.

I am VERY excited for the second book in Erin Watt’s The Royals series. Book one proved to be way more addicting than I had thought possible! It has a very Gossip Girl-esque feel to it which I love because I loved that TV show. I’m glad there are more Royal family shenanigans coming!

You can pre-order Broken Prince at these e-tailers:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/22nMmFQ
iBooks: http://apple.co/1TBzFnn

IMG_2872

IMG_2775

Advertisements

Cover reveal: Playboy Pilot by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward

PLAYBOY PILOT
(A standalone novel)
A Contemporary Romance novel

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Authors
Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

playboy pilot full

Playboy Pilot releases on September 19th!

iBooks exclusive pre-order:
http://apple.co/1rGw4LB

Paperback pre-order: http://amzn.to/23I1Wez

Add Playboy Pilot to your TBR list on Goodreads! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29533192-playboypilot

Sign up for Penelope & Vi’s mailing list now and be the first one notified of releases! http://eepurl.com/brAPo9

playboy pilot cover

Cover designer: Letitia Hasser, r.b.a designs
Model: Sahib Faber
Photographer: Greg Vaughan

Blurb

From the New York Times bestselling authors of Stuck-Up Suit and Cocky Bastard, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

Money or love? Which would you choose?

You probably just answered the question in your head thinking it’s an easy decision.

For me, it’s not. Did I mention it’s a lot of money? A hell of a lot.

I needed to go far away to think it through.

As I embarked on an impulsive trip, I hit a detour when I met sexy Carter in the airport lounge. We struck up a heated conversation.

Then, he left.

I thought I’d never see him again.

But fate had other plans.

Surprise! He was the pilot of my flight.

The bigger surprise was the adventure that followed after the plane landed.

Carter was dangerous and always on the move.

Even though our connection was magnetic, I knew it was only temporary.

He would give me tickets, and I would follow him around the world to exotic places.

A bevvy of flight attendant exes and rumors about Carter’s reputation were never far behind.

I didn’t know what to believe.

But I was addicted. Nothing else mattered anymore. And I was going to get hurt. Because a part of me wanted to be the one to finally ground the playboy pilot.

At the very least, he was taking me on a thrilling ride.

All good things must come to an end, right?

Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

vi keeland bioVi Keeland is a native New Yorker with three children that occupy most of her free time, which she complains about often, but wouldn’t change for the world. She is an attorney and a New York Times, Wall Street Journal, & USA Today Best Selling author. Over the last three years, eleven of her titles have appeared on the USA Today Bestseller lists and four on the New York Times Bestseller lists.

Website | Facebook | Facebook Group | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Pinterest

About the Author:

PENELOPE WARD
Penelope Ward

 

Penelope Ward is a New York Times, USA Today and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author. She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor before switching to a more family-friendly career. She is the proud mother of a beautiful 11-year-old girl with autism (the inspiration for the character Callie in Gemini) and a 9-year-old boy, both of whom are the lights of her life. Penelope, her husband and kids reside in Rhode Island. She is the author of RoomHate and Stepbrother Dearest, which hit #2 and #3 on the New York Times bestseller list respectively. Other works include the New York Times bestseller Cocky Bastard (co-written with Vi Keeland), Sins of Sevin, My Skylar, Jake Undone, Jake Understood and Gemini.

Stalk Her: Facebook | Website | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | Private Fan Group

Review: Rush by Shae Ross

Rush by Shae RossI’ve been looking for something a little bit different in my sports romances because at this point, I’ve read A LOT and well, they’ve started to blur together a bit, no matter how much I enjoyed them. I was very pleasantly surprised by Shae Ross’s Rush.

For starters, there are two very successful athletes in this book. Athletes that take great pride in their sports. Preston Rush is basically a God on campus. He is the star quarterback and he is being courted by the NFL. And yeah, he’s a bit of a love ’em and leave ’em ladies man.

Priscilla Winslow is a soccer star. She is talented and strong and athletic and boisterous and everything I like to read about in my female characters. She doesn’t give a lot of fucks about men and is in a bit of a dry spell but no biggie, she has great friends (who feature heavily in the story, yay!) and she is smart and talented. This girl HAS IT. She is a character I admired from the get-go.

When Preston leaves Priscilla in trouble with her soccer career, she is incensed. She tried to help him by rescuing him from a drunken fight where he was getting the crap beat out of him but this led to them both being jailed. And well, of course Rush gets off. He’s a football God, remember? Unfortunately, such is not the case for Priscilla. When she needs Rush’s help at the beginning of the book, after their jail time debacle, he lets her down in a big way. And even though I know this helped to further the story, I was equally angry at him.

All is not lost though, readers. These two do get their acts together and it makes for some memorable reading. Both romantic (yay sexy times) but also solid character growth for both Rush and Priscilla. Neither of these characters are quite what they seemed. I will say, I think the author painted Rush a tad too… do-gooder at times. He’s not from the most solid background (which is a refreshing change) but I almost feel like the author overcompensated with good deeds in how Rush helps his teammates. I don’t want a selfish hero but it’s possible to characterize someone as a tad too good. Fortunately, this is a minor qualm and really I’m going to be one of the few who think this I am sure. Overall, I was very pleased with how Rush and Priscilla shared and changed TOGETHER.

I also really liked the team camaraderie that Priscilla had with her teammates. They had each other’s backs, even off the field as Priscilla faced the awful realization that she was suspended. I think Shae Ross did a good job of showcasing the differences in consequences for men’s sports versus women’s sports, without becoming didactic about it. The reader is left to form their own opinion but I think you’ll see which way Priscilla falls on this issue.

I admit, I picked this book totally because of the cover. It is HOT. The story lives up to the cover though and this proves to be a really great package. It was just the change-up in a sports romance I needed and it made me realize I really need to read more female athlete stories.

Rush is well worth your precious reading time! You can add it to your Goodreads shelves if you’re so inclined.

ARC provided by publisher for review.

Other reviews:

Smut Book Junkie Book Reviews

Three Girls and a Book Obsession

Review: Sidebarred by Emma Chase

sidebarred

Sidebarred, book 3.5 of the Legal Briefs series.

Oh Emma Chase, you were an author I was meant to discover. I love each and every book I’ve read by you. You’re an author I re-read and Sustained happened to be one of my top books of 2015. I loved Jake and his relationship with Chelsea and the kids so to say I was ECSTATIC to hear that there Emma Chase was writing a novella about this family, well, ecstatic would be putting it mildly. This book did not disappoint me at all.

Before I go into just why I liked it so much, I will say, you really do have to be a fan of Sustained first because else, you are not going to find much to like in this book. Basically, this book is in some ways fan service for all the readers who loved Jake and Chelsea so much but honestly, I don’t mind. I was just really happy to see what the future held for them.

The premise of this story is simple. Something MAJOR is happening for Chelsea and Jake. I won’t give it away though very astute readers will know what it is just from reading the synopsis. As this MAJOR thing changes their life, it changes the relationships between Jake and Chelsea, and Jake and the kids. For the good and sometimes for the more difficult. This book really plays on emotions.

I was so happy to revisit these characters, especially the children who really won me over in Jake’s story. It was nice to see them all a little bit more mature but still kids. It was REALLY great to see how their relationships to Jake and Chelsea had grown. And yeah, the epilogue is pretty darn schmaltzy but I still connected to it. Rory and Jake’s relationship is really what led Jake into the lives of the McQuaid family so it was nice to see a fabulous denouement for them.

This isn’t a long story but I will say, it flew by way too fast. I would have enjoyed EVEN MORE scenes of the lives of the McQuaid-Becker household. But as I said, this book really is for fans of Jake’s story. It’s definitely not where you want to start if you’re just getting into this series but man oh man, it’s worth it when you are ready to read it!

Sidebarred is available now and the original story starring Jake and Chelsea is currently only $0.99 on Kindle so go get it before the deal disappears.

ARC provided by author for review.

Sidebarred love

sidebarred braids