Review: Wrecking Ball by P. Dangelico

wrecking-ball-rdl-ban

I’m excited to be taking part in the release day launch for Wrecking Ball by P. Dangelico. What interested me about this book is that it features one of my favorite tropes, that of the live-in nanny who ends up being the object of affection for the hero, who is sharing the house with her for some reason or another. It’s a well-used trope in the romance genre but I love it every single time. P. Dangelico does a good job of making her take on this trope interesting.

Camilla “Cam” DeSantis’ life has gone down the tubes. Her husband, now deceased, was involved inWrecking Ball by P. Dangelico several Ponzi schemes. Unfortunately, the blame has fallen equally on Cam’s head, even though she had no idea what was going on. She loved her husband and though he seemed to enjoy the “good life” sometimes, she had no idea what he was doing to people. Now, he is dead. Her house and car has been repossessed and she is basically seen as a villain everywhere she goes. She’s back home living with her parents and is desperate need of a job. Her background in education makes her perfect for the live-in nanny/teacher role that Calvin Shaw needs when it comes to his young nephew.

Unfortunately, Calvin Shaw has notoriety written all over him as he is a famous football player for the New York Titans. When she overhears him making a very callous remark about her, Cam initially turns down the job. But soon enough she knows she needs the money. It will help pay back her parents who helped bail her out.

Cam and Calvin don’t particularly get along. He is callous and rather rude. Cam loves helping Calvin’s nephew, Sam, though. He is a little boy who needs her friendship and help and she feels like finally she has a purpose again. But, as one would expect in a romance novel, soon feelings are growing between Cam and Calvin.

I mostly liked Wrecking Ball. I really enjoyed the relationship between Sam and Cam. I also did enjoy the banter between Cam and Calvin as he started opening up to her. I think my biggest dissatisfaction is that I wish I would have been able to see into Calvin’s head a bit more. He is a definite hard nut to crack. And I was infuriated when Calvin called Cam a cow. Just infuriated. If I hadn’t been reading on my phone I would have thrown it across the room.

BUT… I will say Calvin does man up in a big way. By the end of the story, I was a lot more in his corner and supportive of him as a character. He is not perfect so if you’re looking for Prince Charming, Calvin may not be the hero for you. He’s kind of dark at times but when it’s all said and done, I did make connections with him as a reader.

I really liked Cam. She said what was on her mind, damn the consequences. She has already been through her own version of hell and she realizes she has nothing to lose at this point. Cam is blunt, she is open, and she is not going to hold back anymore. I liked that about her a lot. She really became a take no prisoners kind of woman. There is one small thing that bothered me throughout the course of the book. She referred to herself as a trany at one point which I find to be a slur. And while I’m sure the author didn’t intend that, I just find myself sensitive to language like that.

Overall though, I really did fly through this book while reading it. Calvin and Cam and Sam make up a sweet family as the story changes and grows. I really came to appreciate how these two fell for each other. It wasn’t easy by any means. But if you like the nanny/live-in help falls for the hero trope, well you may just thoroughly enjoy this book like me.

wreckingteaser-2

Other reviews:

Book Binge

Cocktails & Books

Buy Links: Amazon

Facebook | Instagram | Website | Goodreads | Pinterest

wreckingteaser-1

Wrecking Ball:

Cam DeSantis’ life is a hot, steaming pile. How else would you describe losing your husband, your job, and your money all at once? Desperate times call for desperate measures, so when salvation comes in the form of one intolerable a-hole, who just happens to be the starting quarterback for the vaunted NY Titans, she has no choice but to accept his offer as a live-in nanny slash teacher for his eight year old nephew. Now all she has to do is find a safe place in her mind to hide whenever she feels the need to throat punch him into tomorrow…which is often.

Calvin Shaw has zero interest in women. Wait, wait––let me rephrase that. He loves women, he just doesn’t want anything to do with ‘um. Not since his wife, presently ex-wife, got knocked up by the guy she was cheating on him with. Problem is––there’s one living in his house. And he doesn’t know what’s worse, that he promised to be civil, or that he’s attracted to her.

About the author:

P. Dangelico loves romance in all forms, shapes, and sizes, cuddly creatures (four legged and two), brick oven pizza, the NY Jets (although she may rethink that after this season), and to while away the day at the barn. What she’s not enamored with is referring to herself in the third person and social media.

Leave a Reply

