Review: My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

notsoperfectI’m just going to say it. My (Not So) Perfect Life is just pure fun! If you’ve ever been a fan of Sophie Kinsella, you are in for a treat. I’ve liked her books since the very beginnings of the Shopaholic series so I was so happy to see this book show up for review.

Who wouldn’t love a perfect life? I know I would! No more bills, chores, lots of fun times with friends, no weight gain?? It sounds amazing but as we all know, that is not reality. Katie Brenner is determined to make her life in London utterly amazing. After growing up in farm country in England, she wants something different. She is sure that her her current job will yield something a lot better. After all, she works with the very talented Demeter. Sure, Demeter is a bit bossy, a bit forgetful and sometimes just downright mean, but Katie (or Cat as she goes by at work) is sure that Demeter will be the perfect mentor for Katie’s future success. Unfortunately, things definitely do not go as planned. Soon, Katie finds herself sacked and back home in the country. To make matters worse, soon Demeter shows up, family in tow, ready for a relaxing time in the country at her father’s rustic resort, the place where Katie is currently working while she is on “sabbatical” (or so she tells her Dad). Before Katie realizes it, she is learning that the perfect life does not exist. You just have to make the best of what you have.

Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite authors to reach for when I need a pick-me-up or a lighthearted book I know will end well for the main character. I didn’t even have this book on my radar until it showed up on Netgalley but I am glad I gave it a chance (especially because her last book wasn’t the best for me). Katie is very similar to me. My instagram sometimes tries to be cooler than I actually am. While I’d love to have a sort of active social life, I’m more of a homebody than anything. Katie wants to excel at her job (again, me) but that’s not always easy when coworkers get in the way. Katie’s life has lots of ups and downs, much like real life, so her experiences really resonated with me.

I also enjoyed her time back in the country as she tries to get her life back under control. Her relationship with her dad is super sweet and I really liked the effort she made to make his “resort” a success. While Katie tries to reach high in life, I never thought of her as a snob at all. Yes, she’d love a custom made coat but she’s not afraid of hard work at all. She is bright with good ideas, she just had to learn to speak up when the time was appropriate.

And of course, like all great Sophie Kinsella books, there is a sweet romance. Katie meets Alex while employed under Demeter’s reign and she is smitten. He is kind of like a little kid in that he loves trying out all kinds of crazy new gadgets and toys but he also has the appeal of a gentleman in how he treats Katie.

There is just a lot to like in this book. It has Kinsella’s trademark humor and yes, her slightly stereotypical characters. But those elements don’t really bother me. I always know what I’m getting when I read one of her books and there is great comfort in that fact. This book has a lot of re-read potential too! So, all in all, I’d say that My (Not So) Perfect Life is pretty much all around fantastic. If you’ve liked Sophie Kinsella’s books in the past, chances are you are going to really enjoy this story too.

My (Not So) Perfect Life is available today!

ARC provided by publisher for review.

Other reviews:

Kirkus

Scribbles & Wanderlust

Harlequin Junkie

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

